Academy of Aphasia: Satellite Meeting on bilingual aphasia

Dear friends,

As we all know, the topic of bilingual aphasia is of increasing interest worldwide and there has been a rise in the number of publications on this topic.

Loraine Obler and I plan to get a group of colleagues who work on bilingual aphasia together in a satellite meeting of the Academy of Aphasia in Boston the day before the Academy starts, Saturday, October 17, from 4:30 to 7:30 pm. Thanks to Dean Gloria Waters our meeting will be held at Boston University, reachable by public transportation from the Academy site. Refreshments and dinner will be served free of charge.

The goal of this meeting will be to discuss issues pertaining to the study of bilingual aphasia from the perspectives of both behavioral and imaging studies. We envision a session including such issues as (a) selection and description of bilingual aphasic patients, (b) methodological issues such as characterizing language use, proficiency, dominance and preference, (c) assessment and diagnosis of bilingual aphasia and (d) treatment options for patients with bilingual aphasia.

Organizers: Swathi Kiran and Loraine Obler

  1. #1 by Elena Sheifer on November 29, 2009 - 1:11 am

    Swathi Kiran, Today is my first day browsing through 2 Languages 2 Worlds blog. Wow how resourceful! Bilingual aphasia really caught my attention. I myself am a student applying for graduate school in speech-language pathology. I was born in Siberia, Russia and moved to the US with my big family when I was only 3yrs old. My grandparents moved with us as well. I am interested in aphasia because my grandfather battled with it for 20 yrs. Moving to a whole new country we didn’t know or have any recourses to help him. I remember how hard it was for him to express his thoughts and ideas to us. I wasn’t aware of how much help was out there for stroke survivors until I went to stroke camp couple summers ago in Portland, Oregon. Wow, facilitative communication totally produced competence. I learned about communication books, non-verbal communication, the use of maps and something as basic as paper and marker to communicate with people with aphasia. If my grandpa was still alive I could have used this new knowledge to help him communicate more freely with us his family. The fact that he didn’t know English much at all limited him. It was hard to find an SLP who was Russian and could have educated us in ways to help my grandfather live life to its fullest. This life experience motivates me to further pursue a career in speech therapy. My heart is attracted to the Russian community and I know I will be able to help them as a future clinician. I admire you for your interest in bilingual aphasia!

Leave a Reply

