Bilingual Texting

This article reminded me of our texting experiences this winter break. My mom, aunt, brother and cousins rented a house near the beach, my sister lives in the east coast and I was with my husband’s family in WI (brrr). Anyway, we texted each other to keep up with who was doing what, and the texts were in a combination of English and Spanish. Someone would write something and someone else would respond, and not always in the original language. But, it doesn’t matter because we all know both– right?

Well, but the autocorrect doesn’t know both. So, the other night we were texting and my cousin closed with “vespas.” I didn’t know what she meant but I figured context would eventually win out. But, everyone was confused. What could she mean? Who got a vespa? is there another word in Spanish that is close to vespa that she really meant? or is it some new slang that the rest of us don’t know?

Turns out “besos” is what she meant. And we all had a good laugh. Vespas for all!

,

  1. #1 by bilingualstruggles on March 18, 2017 - 2:02 pm

    Hahaha this always happens to me! I speak both English and Greek and constantly want to type in both (which is how I talk) and auto correct keeps “correcting” my words to something completely random. I’ve just ended up disabling it because I don’t know what else to do. Do you have any suggestion?

Leave a Reply

